New Jersey Jewish News policies on political coverage/advertising

New Jersey Jewish News policies on political coverage/advertising

In anticipation of the upcoming elections, the New Jersey Jewish News Board of Trustees is taking this opportunity to reiterate the newspaper’s policies regarding political and campaign coverage.

NJJN does not endorse political candidates or parties.

NJJN is dedicated to evenhanded reporting of political activities, events, and statements.

NJJN provides a neutral forum on its opinion pages for the various political views within the community. NJJN reserves the right to edit letters to the editor and op-eds for clarity and content.

NJJN accepts political advertising without bias or regard to party or candidate. NJJN has the responsibility to reject material that is libelous, obscene, or fraudulent or that does not otherwise meet its standards.

• Neither the publication of a political ad in the newspaper nor the page on which it appears is to be regarded as an endorsement of its message by the newspaper or its publisher.

• Our aim is to give our readers news, information, and opinions so that they can make their own decisions and form their own judgments. Readers are encouraged to scrutinize political pronouncements for innuendo and to weigh information from all candidates to determine credibility.

NJJN is published by United Jewish Communities of MetroWest NJ in partnership with four other NJ Jewish federations. The opinions expressed in the newspaper and the decisions made by its editors as to content and advertising do not necessarily reflect the official positions of the federations.

Linda K. Levi, president, Board of Trustees                          
Phil Litwinoff, incoming president

Robert Daley, Max Kleinman, Michael Friedman, vice presidents; Marvin Wertheimer, treasurer; Natalie Peck, secretary; Marsha Atkind*, Leon Baukh, Michele Bell, Phyllis Bernstein, Elisa Spungen Bildner, Philip S. Cantor, Ellie Cohen, Sheldon Denburg*, Judy Elbaum, Thelma Florin, Arnold Gelfman, Rabbi Matthew Gewirtz, Mark Glajchen, Howard W. Golden*, Jerry Harwood*, Merle H. Kalishman, Elihu Katzman*, Richard F. Kessler*, Lori Klinghoffer, David Kohlberg, Beth Levithan*, Robert Lieber, Lee Livingston, Isabel Margolin, Michael P. Miller*, Steve Newmark*, Tom Peck, Eric Polans, Ira Rosenbloom, Karen Rozenberg, Norman Samuels*, Robert Steinbaum*, Alan Wallack

*past presidents

read more: